Look Around

Click here for audio version

Anne Rose © 2014

If praying were as easy as looking at the things around you, would you do it more than you do?

Prayer can be like taking snapshots with your eyes of everything you experience through the day: You get up, brush your teeth, shower, comb your hair, gulp a cup of coffee, answer the phone at work, pick up the kids, go to the grocery store, fix dinner, wash the car, clean the house, pay the bills.

Now what does any of this have to do with prayer? Just how spiritual can any of these mindless hamster-in-a-cage tasks be? Well, it just so happens that they can be very spiritual—if they are transformed into prayers of the heart.

So how do we do this? We begin by telling God the moment our eyes pop open in the morning that we want to thank Him for everything we do during the day.  Then, the fun begins. Everything we do can become a thank you to the Lord. I thank You for every blade of grass I cut, for every leaf I rake, for every drop of rain, for every snowflake, for every second I’m stuck here in traffic, for every annoying bark from the neighbor’s dog, for every penny I pay for a gallon of gas. Don’t forget the fun things too: for every step I walk on this blue bird day, for every taste of this double chocolate ice cream cone, for every note of this music that soothes my soul.

I’ve got to tell you that something wonderful happens when I do this. Pretty soon the somber grays in my life become little sparks of light. I begin to see things inside out. Sometimes I even laugh out loud at the thought of thanking God for some of the stupid things I have to go through.  And you know what?  After a while, they don’t seem so stupid anymore.

So what about you?  If you’ve been spending your days muttering that you were made for something better, you’re right. You’ll know what it is when you look around with the eyes of your heart.

See Merlin Carothers. Prison to Praise. Escondido:Merlin R. Carothers, 1970; Luisa Piccarretta. Book of Heaven

 

 

Leave a Reply

